Jefferson Memorial Washington, DC

The memorial to the great founding father and the third president of the United States, Thomas Jefferson, is situated on the shores of the Washington, DC's Potomac River. The US Congress passed a resolution in 1934 to construct the monument commemorating Jefferson. In 1939, the structure's cornerstone was laid and it was dedicated on April 13, 1943.

Combining a neo-classical dome with a portico, the design by John Russell Pope reflects architectural elements of buildings designed by Jefferson himself. It shares a strong resemblance to the Pantheon in Rome.
Inside, the monument contains a bronze statue of Jefferson by Rudolph Evans and inscriptions of some of his most important writings on the interior walls.
Overhead View Looking North
The memorial honors Thomas Jeferson is author of the Declaration of Independence, first secretary of state, and third president of the United States.
Located on the Tidal Basin next to...... More Jefferson Memorial History
How tall is the Jefferson Memorial statue? 19 feet (5.8 m)
What year was it started? November 15, 1939
What year was it completed? April 13, 1943 is the 200th anniversary of Jefferson's birth.
More Jefferson Memorial Facts
Overhead View Looking North
Notable Quotes
"We hold these truths to be self-evident: that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain inalienable rights, among these are life, liberty, and..." More Jefferson Memorial Quotes
Tours and Location
The public may visit the memorial 24 hours a day. However, park rangers are on duty to answer questions from 9:30 am to 11:30 pm daily. Tour Information
Portrait of Thomas Jefferson